Cricket World Cup History

The ICC Cricket World Cup is the premier international championship of men's One Day International (ODI) cricket. The event is organised by the sport's governing body, the International Cricket Council (ICC), with preliminary qualification rounds leading up to a finals tournament which is held every four years. The tournament is the world's fourth-largest and fourth-most-viewed sporting event. According to the ICC, it is the most important tournament and the pinnacle of achievement in the sport. The first Cricket World Cup contest was organised in England in 1975. A separate Women's Cricket World Cup has been held every four years since 1973.

The finals of the Cricket World Cup are contested by all ten Test-playing and ODI-playing nations, together with other nations that qualify through the World Cup Qualifier. Australia has been the most successful of the five teams to have won the tournament, taking four titles. The West Indies and India have won twice, while Pakistan and Sri Lanka have each won once.

The 2011 Cricket World Cup was co-hosted by Bangladesh, India, and Sri Lanka from 19 February to 2 April 2011. 14 countries participated in the tournament. India won the cup by defeating Sri Lanka by 6 wickets in the final in Mumbai on 2 April and became the first team to win the World Cup final on home soil.

As of 2011 World cup, Australia remains winner of four World cup tournaments with India and West Indies both winning twice. Pakistan and Sri Lanka are the other teams who were crowned World champions before.

The next World Cups will be hosted by Australia and New Zealand in 2015, and England and Wales in 2019.

Cricket World Cup History

Year Date Venue Finals Result
1975 Jun 07-Jun 21 England WI vs AUS WI won by 17 runs
1979 Jun 09-Jun 23 England ENG vs WI WI won by 92 runs
1983 Jun 09-Jun 25 England IND vs WI IND won by 43 runs
1987 Oct 08-Nov 08 India,Pakistan AUS vs ENG AUS won by 7 runs
1992 Feb 22-Mar 25 Australia,New Zealand PAK vs ENG PAK won by 22 runs
1996 Feb 14-Mar 17 India,Pakistan,Sri Lanka AUS vs SL SL won by 7 wickets
1999 May 14-Jun 20 England,Ireland,Netherlands,Scotland AUS vs PAK AUS won by 8 wickets
2003 Feb 09-Mar 23 Kenya,South Africa,Zimbabwe AUS vs IND AUS won by 125 runs
2007 Mar 13-Apr 28 West Indies SL vs AUS AUS won by 53 runs
2011 Feb 19-Apr 02 India, Sri Lanka IND vs SL IND won by 6 wickets
2015 Feb 14-Mar 29 Australia, New Zealand TBD TBD
2019 June England N/A N/A